Sign in to follow this  
Michele Damato

Is a MS Degree in Communication Design sufficient to teach?

I received my MS Degree in 1999 from Pratt Institute in Communications Design. At that time, it was the only terminal degree they offered for design. SVA did not have their program yet. I lived in the NYC, worked as a designer and pursued part of my degree while I worked. Finally, I went full-time, because it was taking to long to finish while working. I never intended to teach with this degree. I only did a Master's for myself and hone my craft. 

I have been teaching for twelve years now, and would like to pursue other teaching opportunities. I was hired at an R1 University with my current degree, but do not know if this will be the case at other places. Do I need to pursue my MFA? Has anyone else been in this situation?  I would appreciate any advice or help other members could offer. Thank you.

• Like 2

Our Promotion and Tenure document lists MFA as the terminal degree in the arts. We are currently looking at would another degree plus X amount of years in the field be considered for tenure, which I certainly think should be the case. Most of the positions I have seen out there require an MFA. I actually had classmates when I was attending graduate school coming back to get the F in their MA because of that requirement. Does anyone know what NASAD's requirements are? That maybe where to look. I would imagine a Masters plus work experience at most places might count. 

Not sure if that helped at all.

Hi Mitch,

Thank you for your feedback. I would hope so, but I am not sure. I know that AIGA made case for other degrees in their "AIGA DEC Statements on Promotion and Tenure of Design Educators" Article. Again though, like you said, I don't know what NASAD's requirements are. It may be that I have to go back for another degree.  

Best, Michele 

MFA (or Equivalent) as the Terminal Degree; Other Degrees