Some colleges and universities require external reviewers when candidates apply for tenure and promotion. Perhaps we can maintain a list here or find another way to aid those who need to find external reviewers at specific ranks.

• Like 2

Nice idea Robin. Happy to throw my name into the ring as my university values this type of service. 

I currently hold the role of Professor of Interaction Design. In American parlance, I would be considered the Dean of Design for my University. I lead Ngā Pae Māhutonga, a design school which holds a top 100 world QS ranking in Creative Arts and Design.  

Prior to my move to NZ, I was a Professor of Design at MassArt in the United States. I am comfortable assessing both candidates for promotion and tenure at free-standing art and design institutions and research-focused Universities. 

I am a NASAD evaluator, but have not done much service in this area now that I live overseas. 

• Thanks 1

I like that idea! I wonder if there's a way we can do this, make it somewhat rigorous, update it, and make it relevant to subspecialties?

• Like 1

I have done a number of these of late, many times for people I don't know well at all or never met. I felt like it was an honor to be asked to review someone's materials and took it very seriously.

Good thread,
James

• Like 1

I've performed 30+ external reviews for tenure and promotion over the past two decades. I have a couple of ideas for how this process can be improved.

Requesting institutions should always send the reviewer the department's tenure and promotion guidelines, so that the reviewer has context for the review (requirements, norms, expectations, departmental and collegiate culture, etc.).

The faculty member (or chair, or dean, or whomever solicits the review) should try to find a strong fit between the candidate and the reviewer – type of institution, faculty rank, sub-disciplinary affinity, career accomplishments, scholarly emphasis, etc.